Freitag, 26. Februar 2016

Causa Sui - Return To Sky (Preview)

In a few weeks time Causa Sui will release their new record "Return To Sky" on Paraiso Records. "Dust Meridian" is the first single off this upcoming album available for streaming now.

Since their first LP the band has shown its experimental visions quite a few times and this new track is a very mature example of Causa Sui's progressive and versatile sound. In ten minutes you will find very cinematic elements as well as driving rhythms or quite passages with a psychedelic vibe. Definitely a lot to look forward too on the upcoming record, which by the way features a nice artwork by artist Martin Rude.

Get the stream and more info on Soundcloud.

Montag, 22. Februar 2016

Deep Street Soul - Souls Come Alive "7

Finally the explosive Soul collective Deep Street Soul from Australia is back with a new single. Its a first taste of the upcoming full-length album "Come Alive" and another great example of what this band is capable of doing.

Both tracks on this "7 record are fueled with the incompatible Deep Street Soul drive that just bursts with raw funk energy. When you hear the slow grooving organ in "Souls Come Alive" with May Johnsons incredible voice kicking in you know you're in for a special soul treat. The flipside's "Done Me Wrong" is an equally impressive uptempo groover. A lot to look forward to on the band's album

Stream the clips on Soundcloud. Release of the single will be in mid March.

Mittwoch, 17. Februar 2016

Sifu Hotman - Matches / Embraces The Sun "7

Sifu Hotman is the latest rap installment to the ae productions roster. Their new single "Matches" was released last month and features a dynamic brand of hip hop.

The Sifu Hotman trio consists of poetry slam champion Guante, MC Dem Atlas and beatmaker DJ Rube. Their approach features an old school framework complemented by some fresh elements. "Matches" ist an exquisite rap track in which both MCs show off their skills over a throwback beat while Mr Fantastic's remix of "Embrace The Sun" on the flipside displays a more danceable approach with  guest vocals by Tall Paul.

Get the stream on Bandcamp.

Montag, 15. Februar 2016

Naima - Bye

Blending electronic sounds and progressive piano trio elements Naima from Valencia just released their brand new album "Bye" on the exquisite Cuneiform records.

The group consists of Enrique Ruiz on piano, Luis Torregrosa on drums ands Rafael Ramos Sanía on bass. As a trio they try to push the boundaries of the traditional jazz outfit to interesting new heights. You will still find the conventional beautiful piano melodies, improvisational passages and nice themes as in music by groups like The Bad Plus - but Naima develop manage to develop their own structures as they seem to evolve out of the dynamics of each track. It's not the theme that makes the song but the equitable use of each instrument in open-spirited compositions. 

Get the full stream on Bandcamp.

Dienstag, 9. Februar 2016

Revolutionary Rhythm - Raw Rhythm Vol 1

Among all the rap artists that offer their music for free Revolutionary Rhythm from Los Angeles might be one of the names ranking at the top of that list. The successor to their incredible "The Art Gallery" was released a few days ago and goes by the name of "Raw Rhythm Vol. 1".

The group consists of DJ Million Faces and emcees Kid Million and Predominance. Their sound is the product of a nice blend of what everybody brings to the table. The mix of school beatmaking and the complementary flows of the two rappers creates a dope style of positive hip hop. From the great opener "Soul Motion" to slow tracks like "Day In The Life" or uptempo tunes like "Rock The Beat" you can find it all on this record - and you will always find it in a fresh sounding and uplifting fashion.

Get the full stream and free (as in "name your price") download on Bandcamp.

Infinite Flux S/T Album

Infinite Flux from Tacoma, Washington are presenting a huge load of riffs and doom metal vibes on their brand new selftitled record.

Right from the start they let you know where the journey is going on this record - heavy riffs, thundering drums, stomping rhythms and heavy riffs again. What doesn't sound like a very complex concept sometimes evolves to something even bigger than the riffs, as you can witness in the incredible second track "Solar Sacrifice". The simple structures add together and evolve to a floating monster of a doom metal composition - and that's where the name Infinite Flux comes into full effect.

Stream the whole album on Bandcamp.

Donnerstag, 4. Februar 2016

James Allsopp Quartet - I'm A Fool To Want You

It seems like this blog is pushing everything that is released on Impossible Ark records even if it's "just" some new renditions of jazz standards - but who could argue with the quality on this artist run label?

Your album personnel is the classic Impossible Ark ensemble including saxophonist James Allsopp, pianist Ross Stanley, bassist Rian Vosloo and Tom Giles on drums. Spanning tunes like "That Old Feeling", "On A Clear Day" or the title track "I'm A Fool To Want You" this album stands for everything a jazz fan could ask for - and this time I even mean the ones only looking for the standard jazz sounds - after all this is a collection of standards, interpreted nicely by a group of talented and passionate instrumentalists.

Get the stream on Bandcamp.

Montag, 1. Februar 2016

Spacin' - Total Freedom

Philadelphia's Spacin' are all set to deliver a very special dose of rock and roll on their brand new album "Total Freedom" in late March. 

The band consists of singer and guitarist Jason Killinger, guitarist Paul Sukeena, bassist Sean Hamilton and Eva Killinger on drums. From front to end this record is all about steady grooves and fuzzy lo-fi sounds. There is a floating character to all the songs created by endless jams while here and there some nice grooves and classic blues elements evolve and disappear through the infinite fuzz. Prepare to give this one an honest and worthy ride otherwise you won't be able to appreciate this unique rock monster.

Get the full stream on Bandcamp.